Japanese urushi lacquer box with mother-of-pearl kamon decoration

€280
.

Adorable vintage Japanese handmade box (Shōwa era) in wood covered with several layers of deep, glossy black Japanese urushi lacquer, on which a delightful decoration has been applied using the traditional raden (螺鈿) technique, mother-of-pearl inlay;

This involves inlaying the object with pieces of iridescent abalone shell, which are shaved to a very fine thickness. The mother-of-pearl is worked into 3 floral motifs (including the paulownia flower, kiri) in a circle, according to the principle of kamon, the Japanese coat-of-arms.  This is meticulous, precise work, which gives the whole a remarkable contrasting iridescent black/white effect.

Its rectangular shape, its thinness (it is 3cm thick) and its rounded edges make it a very soft and extremely decorative object. It can be used as a display object, or as a box to store a few treasures, like precious pens on a desk for example. It is closed with a sanadahimo, a braided cord.

The box itself is protected in a light paulownia wood box, signed by the craftsman and also closed with a sanadahimo tie (braided cord);

All in perfect condition. Note that the lid of the protective box is split down the middle, a charming legacy from a previous life.

A precious work for yourself or to a lover of Japanese culture, who will surely appreciate the delicacy of this work

This object is one-of-a-kind.

PLACE OF MANUFACTURE JAPAN
DIMENSIONS

(lacquered box) Length 24cm x Width 16cm x Height 3cm

WEIGHT (total) 364gr
COMPOSITION Wood, urushi lacquer, raden (mother-of-pearl)

The traditional Japanese lacquer, urushi, is made from the sap of the lacquer tree (Rhus Verniciflua), which flows out after incision of the bark. It is a very precious material, a tree will only give a maximum of 200ml of sap in its life, which is worked by craftsmen each specialized in a particular stage. It takes many slow and meticulous operations to give life to lacquered objects. It is the oldest craft in Japan! Initially used to protect and waterproof objects, this immutable craft has become an art of extreme sophistication. If you want to know more about the art of Japanese lacquerware, you can read our dedicated article here.

This object keeps in memory the hand of the craftsman who designed it with patience. It will accompany your daily life, bringing its delicate and refined beauty, while contributing to the preservation of unique craftsmanship.

CARE INSTRUCTIONS Clean with a very soft cloth to avoid scratches, soaked with a little warm water if necessary (never soak your lacquered objects). No microwave, dishwasher, dryer. Do not expose to direct sunlight for a long time (risk of discoloration). If the atmosphere is very dry and very hot, and to avoid the risk of cracking, you can place a glass filled with water next to your lacquered object.

Shipping costs will be calculated and added at checkout.

We usually ship orders within 48 business hours (except for fine art photographic prints, which require between 5 and 10 business days because they are prepared on demand), but it may happen that this delay is longer when new collections are put online or if we are traveling abroad.
In this case we will indicate the new delays in the announcement banner at the top of each page of the site, please refer to it before ordering (the usual delays would apply if the banner does not refer to it).

The shipping costs are calculated and added during the finalization of the basket.

Deliveries are made by Colissimo with tracking. Each package is, at the buyer's choice, delivered at home against a signature or delivered in a Point Relais La Poste. Packages are insured up to their value against loss or damage.

For the moment we deliver in France (metropolitan and overseas), the European Union countries and United States. Subscribe to our newsletter to be informed of the opening of new geographical areas.

Metropolitan France, Andorra, Monaco. From 5,47€

France Overseas zone 1 (Guadeloupe, Martinique, Reunion, Guyana, Mayotte and St-Pierre-et-Miquelon). From 15,71€

France Overseas zone 2 (New Caledonia, French Polynesia...). From 23.05€

Zone 1 (Germany, Belgium, Luxembourg, Netherlands). From 10,55€

Zone 2 (Austria, Spain, Ireland, Italy, Portugal). From 12,12€

Zone 3 (Denmark, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden). From 13,63€

Zone 4 (Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Finland, Greece, Malta, Romania). From 16,00€

Zone 5 (United States). From 30,80€

Also to be discovered

Recently seen

Boîte en laque urushi japonaise noire et décor kamon en nacre

€280
Pour la France Métropolitaine la livraison est gratuite à partir de 150€ d'achats

Adorable boîte d'artisanat japonais vintage (ère Shōwa) en bois couverte de plusieurs couches de laque urushi japonaise noire brillante et profonde, sur laquelle un ravissant décor a été appliqué selon la technique traditionnelle du raden (螺鈿), l'incrustation de nacre. 

Elle consiste à incruster sur l'objet des morceaux de coquillages irisés provenant d'ormeaux qui sont rasés à une épaisseur très fine. La nacre est travaillée en 3 motifs floraux (dont la fleur de paulownia, kiri) en cercle, selon le principe du kamon, les blasons japonais. C'est un travail minutieux et précis, qui donne à l'ensemble un effet contrasté noir/blanc irisé remarquable.

Sa forme, rectangulaire, sa finesse (elle a une épaisseur de 3cm), ses bords arrondis en font un objet très doux et extrêmement décoratif. Elle peut servir d'objet de présentation, ou de boîte pour ranger quelques trésors, comme des stylos précieux sur un bureau par exemple. Elle est fermée par un sanadahimo, une cordelette tressée.

La boîte est elle-même protégée dans une boîte en bois léger de paulownia sur laquelle est apposée la signature de l'artisan et se fermant également avec un lien sanadahimo (cordelette tressée).  

Le tout est en parfait état. À noter que le couvercle de la boîte de protection est fendu au milieu, héritage charmant d'une vie précédente.

Un travail précieux à s'offrir ou à offrir à un amoureux de la culture japonaise, qui appréciera assurément la délicatesse de ce travail. 

Cette pièce est un exemplaire unique.

LIEU DE FABRICATION JAPON
DIMENSIONS

(boîte seule) Longueur 24cm x Largeur 16cm x Hauteur 3cm

POIDS (total) 364gr
COMPOSITION Bois, laque urushi, raden (nacre)

 

La laque traditionnelle japonaise, urushi, est issue de la sève de l’arbre à laque (Rhus Verniciflua), qui s’écoule après incision de l’écorce. C’est une matière très précieuse, un arbre ne donnera au maximum que 200ml de sève dans sa vie, qui est travaillée par des artisans chacun spécialisé dans une étape particulière. Il faut de nombreuses opérations, lentes et minutieuses, pour donner vie à des objets en laque. C’est le plus ancien artisanat du Japon! Utilisé initialement pour protéger et imperméabiliser les objets, cet artisanat immuable est devenu un art d’une extrême sophistication. Si vous désirez en savoir plus sur l’art de la laque japonaise, vous pouvez lire notre article dédié ici.

Cet objet garde en mémoire la main de l'artisan qui l'a conçu avec patience. Il accompagnera vos moments de vie au quotidien, apportant sa beauté délicate et raffinée, tout en contribuant à la préservation de savoir-faire artisanaux uniques.

CONSEILS D'ENTRETIEN: Nettoyer avec un chiffon très doux pour éviter les rayures, imbibé d’un peu d’eau tiède si nécessaire (ne jamais faire tremper ses objets en laque). Pas de micro-onde, lave-vaisselle, séchoir. Ne pas exposer à la lumière directe du soleil pendant un long moment (risque de décoloration). Si l’atmosphère est très sèche et très chaude, et pour éviter les risques de craquelures, on peut placer un verre rempli d’eau à côté de son objet en laque.

Les frais de port seront calculés et ajoutés lors de la finalisation du panier. 

Pour la France (métropolitaine), la livraison est gratuite à partir de 150€ d'achat.

Nous expéditions les commandes généralement dans les 48 heures ouvrables (à l'exception des tirages photographiques d'art, qui nécessitent entre 5 et 10 jours ouvrés car ils sont préparés à la demande), mais il peut arriver que ce délai s’allonge lors de mise en ligne de nouvelles collections ou si nous sommes en déplacement à l’étranger.
Dans ce cas nous indiquerons les nouveaux délais dans le bandeau d’annonce en haut de chaque page du site, merci de vous y référer avant de passer la commande (les délais classiques s'appliquent si le bandeau n'y fait pas référence).

Les frais de port sont calculés et ajoutés lors de la finalisation du panier. 

Les livraisons sont assurées par Colissimo avec suivi. Chaque colis est, au choix de l’acheteur, remis à domicile en main propre contre une signature ou livré en Point Relais. Certains petits articles non fragiles sont expédiés en Lettre Suivie.

Pour l’instant nous livrons la France (métropolitaine et outre-mer), les pays de l’Union Européenne et les États-Unis. Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter pour être prévenu(e) de l’ouverture de nouvelles zones géographiques.

France Métropolitaine, Andorre, Monaco. Colissimo à partir de 6,65€ (3,10€ pour les Lettres Suivies)

Zone Outre-Mer 1 (Guadeloupe, Martinique, La Réunion, Guyane, Mayotte et St-Pierre-et-Miquelon). A partir de 15,71€

Zone Outre-Mer 2 (Nouvelle-Calédonie, Polynésie Française…). A partir de 23,05€

Zone 1 (Allemagne, Belgique, Luxembourg, Pays-Bas). A partir de  10,76€

Zone 2 (Autriche, Espagne, Irlande, Italie, Portugal). A partir de 12,24€

Zone 3 (Danemark, Estonie, Hongrie, Lettonie, Lituanie, Pologne, République Tchèque, Slovaquie,
Slovénie, Suède). A partir de  13,63€

Zone 4 (Bulgarie, Chypre, Croatie, Finlande, Grèce, Malte, Roumanie). A partir de 16€

Zone 5 (États-Unis). A partir de 30,80€

A découvrir également

Vus récemment