Rare white and blue porcelain jūbako (tiered box) covered with red lacquer and gold maki-e decoration

€850
.

A very rare jūbako-style box that combines the expertise of beautiful porcelain work with the skills of lacquer, creating a total surprise effect between its exterior and interior. It was made by the highly renowned Japanese craftsman Kato Gozan (1922-2007), who belongs to a prestigious line of samurai and potters from the Owari clan in Seto (Aichi prefecture).

After the Meiji Restoration (and the end of the Tokugawa shogunate in 1868), his ancestors continued to make pottery, supplying pieces for the shrines of Ise and Meiji. He himself learnt and then passed on these skills, notably with Seto white and blue "sometsuke-yaki" porcelain, but also by imagining other creative expressions. His work has been exhibited extensively in Japan.

It is very rare to find pieces in Japan that combine ceramics and lacquer, even though this technique, known as totai shikki, is very old. As far back as the Jōmon period (corresponding to the Neolithic period), the Japanese used lacquer on their pottery to make it resistant and watertight so that it could carry water.

This exceptional object, comprising 3 levels and a lid, combines several techniques derived from Japanese know-how and the expertise of Kato Gozan. Delicate indigo motifs of pine, cherry, peony and bamboo, drawn before firing, blossom on the white of the porcelain, revealed when the different levels are lifted. When the box is closed, it is the magnificently dense red Japanese lacquer on which pine, cherry, chrysanthemum and peony designs have been applied in maki-e, i.e. gold powder sprinkled over the still-fresh lacquer.The edges of each tier are edged in gold, further accentuating the contrast between porcelain and red lacquer.

This very heavy box (2.4kg on its own) is presented in 2 beautiful double-protected wooden boxes, one of which is signed by the artisan.

It was made in the early 1990s and is in perfect condition, with the exception of a small chip in the lacquer on one of the levels (barely visible because it is at the level of the closure with the upper level) and on the interior gold edging, which in no way detracts from the beauty of the whole.


PLACE OF MANUFACTURE JAPAN
DIMENSIONS

(lacquered box)

Height 20cm x Width 14cm x Depth 14cm

WEIGHT (total) 3400gr
COMPOSITION Porcelain, urushi lacquer

The traditional Japanese lacquer, urushi, is made from the sap of the lacquer tree (Rhus Verniciflua), which flows out after incision of the bark. It is a very precious material, a tree will only give a maximum of 200ml of sap in its life, which is worked by craftsmen each specialized in a particular stage. It takes many slow and meticulous operations to give life to lacquered objects. It is the oldest craft in Japan! Initially used to protect and waterproof objects, this immutable craft has become an art of extreme sophistication. If you want to know more about the art of Japanese lacquerware, you can read our dedicated article here.

This object keeps in memory the hand of the craftsman who designed it with patience. It will accompany your daily life, bringing its delicate and refined beauty, while contributing to the preservation of unique craftsmanship.

CARE INSTRUCTIONS Clean with a very soft cloth to avoid scratches, soaked with a little warm water if necessary (never soak your lacquered objects). No microwave, dishwasher, dryer. Do not expose to direct sunlight for a long time (risk of discoloration). If the atmosphere is very dry and very hot, and to avoid the risk of cracking, you can place a glass filled with water next to your lacquered object.

Shipping costs will be calculated and added at checkout.

We usually ship orders within 48 business hours (except for fine art photographic prints, which require between 5 and 10 business days because they are prepared on demand), but it may happen that this delay is longer when new collections are put online or if we are traveling abroad.
In this case we will indicate the new delays in the announcement banner at the top of each page of the site, please refer to it before ordering (the usual delays would apply if the banner does not refer to it).

The shipping costs are calculated and added during the finalization of the basket.

Deliveries are made by Colissimo with tracking. Each package is, at the buyer's choice, delivered at home against a signature or delivered in a Point Relais La Poste. Packages are insured up to their value against loss or damage.

For the moment we deliver in France (metropolitan and overseas), the European Union countries and United States. Subscribe to our newsletter to be informed of the opening of new geographical areas.

Metropolitan France, Andorra, Monaco. From 5,47€

France Overseas zone 1 (Guadeloupe, Martinique, Reunion, Guyana, Mayotte and St-Pierre-et-Miquelon). From 15,71€

France Overseas zone 2 (New Caledonia, French Polynesia...). From 23.05€

Zone 1 (Germany, Belgium, Luxembourg, Netherlands). From 10,55€

Zone 2 (Austria, Spain, Ireland, Italy, Portugal). From 12,12€

Zone 3 (Denmark, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden). From 13,63€

Zone 4 (Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Finland, Greece, Malta, Romania). From 16,00€

Zone 5 (United States). From 30,80€

Also to be discovered

Recently seen

Rare jūbako (boîte à étages) en porcelaine blanche & bleue et laque rouge décor maki-e or

€850
Pour la France Métropolitaine la livraison est gratuite à partir de 150€ d'achats

Très rare boîte style jūbako qui combine l'expertise d'un très beau travail de porcelaine avec les savoir-faire de la laque, créant un effet de surprise total entre son extérieur et son intérieur. Elle a été réalisée par le très réputé artisan d'art japonais Kato Gozan (1922-2007), qui fait partie d’une prestigieuse lignée de samouraïs et de potiers du clan Owari, à Seto (préfecture d’Aichi).

À la restauration de Meiji (et la fin du shogunat de Tokugawa- 1868) ses ancêtres ont poursuivi le travail de poterie en fournissant notamment des pièces pour les sanctuaires d'Ise et de Meiji. Lui-même a appris et transmis ensuite ces savoir-faire, notamment autour de la porcelaine blanche et bleue de Seto “sometsuke-yaki”, mais également en imaginant d’autres expressions créatives. Son travail a fait l’objet de nombreuses expositions au Japon.

Il est très rare de trouver au Japon des pièces qui combinent la céramique et la laque, même si cette technique, appelée totai shikki, est très ancienne. Dès la période Jōmon (correspondant au Néolithique) les japonais utilisaient de la laque sur leurs poteries afin de les rendre résistantes et étanches pour pouvoir transporter de l’eau.

Cette exceptionnelle boîte, constituées de 3 niveaux et d’un couvercle, combine donc plusieurs techniques issues des savoir-faire japonais et de l’expertise de Kato Gozan. De délicats motifs couleur indigo de pin, cerisier, pivoine et bambou, dessinés avant cuisson, viennent s’épanouir sur la blancheur de la porcelaine, révélés lorsque l’on soulève les différents étages. Lorsque la boîte est fermée c’est la laque japonaise rouge d’une magnifique densité et sur laquelle des décors de pin, cerisier, chrysanthème, pivoine ont été appliqués en maki-e, c’est à dire poudre d’or saupoudrée sur laque encore fraîche. Un liseré or est posé sur les rebords de chaque étage, accentuant encore plus le contraste porcelaine/laque rouge.

Cette boîte, très lourde (2,4kg seule), est présentée dans 2 très belles boîtes de double protection en bois, dont l’une est signée par l’artisan. Elle a été réalisée au début des années 90 et est en parfait état, à l’exception d’un petit éclat sur la laque de l’un des étages (mais à peine visible car au niveau de la fermeture avec l’étage supérieur) ainsi que sur le liseré or intérieur, qui n’altère en rien la beauté de l’ensemble.

LIEU DE FABRICATION
JAPON
DIMENSIONS

(boîte seule)

Hauteur 20cm x Largeur 14cm x Profondeur 14cm

POIDS (total) 3400gr
COMPOSITION
Porcelaine, laque urushi

 

La laque traditionnelle japonaise, urushi, est issue de la sève de l’arbre à laque (Rhus Verniciflua), qui s’écoule après incision de l’écorce. C’est une matière très précieuse, un arbre ne donnera au maximum que 200ml de sève dans sa vie, qui est travaillée par des artisans chacun spécialisé dans une étape particulière. Il faut de nombreuses opérations, lentes et minutieuses, pour donner vie à des objets en laque. C’est le plus ancien artisanat du Japon! Utilisé initialement pour protéger et imperméabiliser les objets, cet artisanat immuable est devenu un art d’une extrême sophistication. Si vous désirez en savoir plus sur l’art de la laque japonaise, vous pouvez lire notre article dédié ici.

Cet objet garde en mémoire la main de l'artisan qui l'a conçu avec patience. Il accompagnera vos moments de vie au quotidien, apportant sa beauté délicate et raffinée, tout en contribuant à la préservation de savoir-faire artisanaux uniques.

CONSEILS D'ENTRETIEN:

Nettoyer avec un chiffon très doux pour éviter les rayures, imbibé d’un peu d’eau tiède si nécessaire (ne jamais faire tremper ses objets en laque). Pas de micro-onde, lave-vaisselle, séchoir. Ne pas exposer à la lumière directe du soleil pendant un long moment (risque de décoloration). Si l’atmosphère est très sèche et très chaude, et pour éviter les risques de craquelures, on peut placer un verre rempli d’eau à côté de son objet en laque.

Les frais de port seront calculés et ajoutés lors de la finalisation du panier. 

Pour la France (métropolitaine), la livraison est gratuite à partir de 150€ d'achat.

Nous expéditions les commandes généralement dans les 48 heures ouvrables (à l'exception des tirages photographiques d'art, qui nécessitent entre 5 et 10 jours ouvrés car ils sont préparés à la demande), mais il peut arriver que ce délai s’allonge lors de mise en ligne de nouvelles collections ou si nous sommes en déplacement à l’étranger.
Dans ce cas nous indiquerons les nouveaux délais dans le bandeau d’annonce en haut de chaque page du site, merci de vous y référer avant de passer la commande (les délais classiques s'appliquent si le bandeau n'y fait pas référence).

Les frais de port sont calculés et ajoutés lors de la finalisation du panier. 

Les livraisons sont assurées par Colissimo avec suivi. Chaque colis est, au choix de l’acheteur, remis à domicile en main propre contre une signature ou livré en Point Relais. Certains petits articles non fragiles sont expédiés en Lettre Suivie.

Pour l’instant nous livrons la France (métropolitaine et outre-mer), les pays de l’Union Européenne et les États-Unis. Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter pour être prévenu(e) de l’ouverture de nouvelles zones géographiques.

France Métropolitaine, Andorre, Monaco. Colissimo à partir de 6,65€ (3,10€ pour les Lettres Suivies)

Zone Outre-Mer 1 (Guadeloupe, Martinique, La Réunion, Guyane, Mayotte et St-Pierre-et-Miquelon). A partir de 15,71€

Zone Outre-Mer 2 (Nouvelle-Calédonie, Polynésie Française…). A partir de 23,05€

Zone 1 (Allemagne, Belgique, Luxembourg, Pays-Bas). A partir de  10,76€

Zone 2 (Autriche, Espagne, Irlande, Italie, Portugal). A partir de 12,24€

Zone 3 (Danemark, Estonie, Hongrie, Lettonie, Lituanie, Pologne, République Tchèque, Slovaquie,
Slovénie, Suède). A partir de  13,63€

Zone 4 (Bulgarie, Chypre, Croatie, Finlande, Grèce, Malte, Roumanie). A partir de 16€

Zone 5 (États-Unis). A partir de 30,80€

A découvrir également

Vus récemment